a court of I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH

Sarah J Maas has been on my radar for quite some time. Even before i read anything by her, here’s what i knew – she’s around my age, she’s successful, she’s prolific, and she’s pretty. This is all a perfect storm for me to be wildly jealous of her, and i am – but i am also in awe, and am now also a genuine fan. I had been toying with the idea of reading Throne of Glass first, as it is the first novel in her first published series. However, the cover of A Court of Thorns and Roses, as well as its sequel, would not stop calling out to me. Finally, after picking up the book at work and flipping through pages “just to peak,” i dreamt that i was reading ACOTAR. The next day i downloaded a copy of it and began furiously reading.

 

What a lush, imaginative, thickly plotted world Maas created. Just when you think this Beauty and the Beast retelling is just that – a BATB retelling – she spins the story on its head, and dizzies the reader with future prospects for the story. To me, a person who admittedly doesn’t read as much fantasy as she’d like to, the faeries and magical creatures were spectacular. If I had to compare ACOTAR to another faerie book or series I loved, that would be Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series. If you haven’t read the WL books, get a move on!

 

But anyway – I found myself caring so much about Feyre and Tamlin and Lucien and Alis – and I’ve only just met Rheysand, who is a *fan favorite,* and I’m so jealous of all those who have read A Court of Mist and Fury, the sequel, as well as SJM’s other series. I’m sorry I didn’t hop onto the Maas Train sooner, but I’m so glad I now have! I’m looking forward to meeting more characters from Feyre’s world. Not to mention it was great seeing such a kick-ass heroine, reading a sex-positive book, and falling deep into an unproblematic, inspiring world.

acomaf.pngimage source

Author: maryjanereads

i'm trying.

Leave a Reply

