Rereading Harry Potter has brought up a lot of emotion within me. As a millennial born in 1990, I was part of the first generation who grew up with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. My copies were well loved, well worn, and reread many times. However, as college got harder and more involved, and becoming a grown up got in the way, I had to set the magic aside for a few years. This is my first reread as not only an adult with an apartment and bills, but my first true read as an adult who is far enough away from the ages of Harry and co. to understand more than I did before.

The Sorcerer’s Stone is of course the first novel (Philosopher’s Stone to most of the rest of the world). It’s not the best in the series, but it’s a perfect set up for the events to come. I recently wrote a paper based on this book and the second about death.

I’m currently in the middle of The Chamber of Secrets, and so many old memories of reading these books in bed, in various homes, in school, are coming back to me. Like Pretty Little Liars has become for me now, Harry Potter is my comfort blanket. Going back to Hogwarts has been amazing so far.

Thoughts on The Cursed Child?.

Author: maryjanereads

i'm trying.

3 thoughts on “”

Leave a Reply

