The Girls by Emma Cline; published June 14, 2016.

 

When I saw The Girls A.R.C. on the table at work, up for grabs, grab it I did. I’ve had the book on my to-read list for a few months now, and so when I saw it, I felt like it was a gift.

 

From the minute I started reading I was hooked. The first line is, “I looked up because of the laughter, and kept looking because of the girls.” I was immediately transported back to my early teenage years in which I looked at the girls around me as people I wanted to emulate, love, and become. Women are magical creatures, girls are exhilaratingly so.

 

Emma Cline is my own age (25-26) but she manages to capture the 1960’s so perfectly in her book, you’d think she time traveled. I recommend this book to people in their 20’s and 30’s – especially women. You need to be at an age where you can still not just connect to your teen self, but remember your teen self, and understand where she was coming from. I was really inspired to pick up the pen after reading this novel. It was paced well, and kept my interest throughout.

 

I will definitely be looking out for more Emma Cline books in the future. She signed a three book deal, of which The Girls is the first. The film rights have been purchased as well. So this is just the beginning of Cline’s possible, probable reign as Lit’s new Queen of Cool.

 

When the movie comes out, I imagine it will be all about Russell – but the book is definitely al about The Girls.

 

Pairs well with:

The Virgin Suicides movie or book

Lana Del Rey’s Honeymoon Album

Author: maryjanereads

i'm trying.

Leave a Reply

